Charles E. Young Humanitarian Award


Now open Wednesday March 3 at 9am PST - Monday April 26 at 12pm PST for undergraduate, graduate and professional students. See below and application for eligibility and requirements. Completed applications must be accompanied by a letter of support by an advisor, instructor, or officer of a sponsoring organization. If you have any questions or concerns, please email

SOLE will be hosting two (2) application workshops: 

Apply Now!
History of the Award

In 1986 a committee of students, faculty, and staff formed to create a way to recognize and promote the value of community service to a college education. That year The Chancellor’s Humanitarian Award was established as an annual tribute to recognize and encourage projects that address the social needs of the community. The award was renamed in 1997 as the Charles E. Young Humanitarian Award, during Dr. Young’s last year as Chancellor, in acknowledgment of his continued outstanding contributions to the recognition and promotion of community service.

Jake Gildea

Humanitarian service is an integral part of the educational experience. To honor outstanding contributions and commitment to public service, and to encourage future projects that address social needs within the community, a $1000 donation to the recipients’ community service project of choice is presented to 3 students at a reception held in Spring Quarter. A candidate for this award must be an undergraduate, graduate or professional student in good standing at the time he or she applies. Candidates must have performed an outstanding public service during the preceding twelve-month period. All programs, non-profit, governmental or community-based organizations qualify. The services may be in any field including aid to the hungry, homeless or sick; protection of the environment; work for the elimination of cruelty or injustice; and efforts for the resolution of community or national conflict. Projects sponsored by or affiliated with student organizations will be given additional weight during the selection process.

Photo Gallery       Previous Recipients

2020 Winners

Image of 2020 Winners. Daniel Fernandez Companion Care. Latrice White Afrikan Education Project. Samantha Zimmer Special Olympics at UCLA.